DAA Daily

England’s 2018 World Cup Squad

By Sebastian West
Staff Reporter
The Pawprint

Gareth Southgate has selected an England squad like no other manager has ever done. The team you could guess if you saw it would be the under-21 team – that’s how young the selected players on the list are. But Southgate has already revealed the idea behind it; he said in a press conference, “I am not looking for a team that could win the world cup but a team that could win the next one.”

Southgate is building young players up in high pressure high skill environments like the World Cup. This will prepare and help them get ready and organized for the further World Cups to come .

The 23-Man Squad The squad is as follows:



Nick Pope,Jordan Pickford,Jack Butland


Gary Cahill,Danny Rose, John Stones, Kyle Walker, Kieran Trippier,Ashley Young, Phil Jones, Harry Maguire, Trent Alexander-Arnold,


Eric Dier, Jordan Henderson, Fabian Delph, Ruben Loftus-Cheek, Dele Alli, Jesse Lingard,


Jamie Vardy, Marcus Rashford, Harry Kane, Raheem Sterling, Danny Welbeck


With this team, there are multiple new players who have only hit the spotlight in the past few months, However, they haven’t had a chance to make their mark on an international scale.


The reputation of English football has worsened over the past few years due to poor performance and poor management, but with a fresh team and a new manager with big ideas, there is hope for a successful campaign for England’s National team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: