DAA Daily

UAE banned all flights from 7 African countries

By: Felipe Dana, Staff reporter, The Pawprint

The UAE announced on Friday suspended inbound flights from South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Lesotho and Eswatini due to concerns over the spread of a new COVID-19 variant first detected in South Africa.

The travel ban will take effect from Monday, November 29.

Dubai’s flag carrier Emirates has suspended inbound passenger flights from seven South African nations. However, outbound flights from Dubai to these countries will not be affected. Passengers traveling to these countries can continue to fly as booked.

As per the airline’s notice on its website, travellers originating from, or transiting from, the countries listed below will not be accepted for travel into Dubai with effect from Monday, November 29, 2021 until further notice.

“Affected customers do not need to call us immediately for rebooking. Customers can simply hold on to their Emirates ticket and when flights resume, get in touch with their travel agent or booking office to make new travel plans,” the airlines said in a statement.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: