DAA Daily

Nobel Prize in Physics to Syukuro Manabe,Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi

By Alessandro Pellegrino, Staff Reporter, The pawprint

The nobel prize in physics was awarded to Japanese, German and Italian scientists. Syukruro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann were honoured for their work in “physically modelling the Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming.”

The second prize was awarded to Giorgio Parisi for the discovery of the “interaction between disorder and fluctuations in physical systems, from the atomic to the planetary scale.” Parisi is a theoretical physicist at the La Sapienza University of Rome and the national institute of Nuclear Physics and is also vice-president of the Academy of Lincei.

The winners were announced Tuesday by Goran Hansson, general secretary of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: