DAA Daily

Huge problems for G7 to tackle

Ebba Lindh, Staff Reporter, The Pawprint

The G7 means the “group of seven” which is an organization made up of the world’s seven largest advanced economies. They are Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the UK and the United States. Russia joined in 1998, creating the “G8”, but was excluded in 2014 because of its takeover of Crimea, which is a region of Ukraine. 

The main reason for the meeting taking place on June 11, 2021, is to discuss Covid and try to “create a stronger global health system that will protect us from all the future pandemics”. 

The G7 can’t pass any laws because it is made up of separate nations with their own democratic processes. However, some decisions can have global effects.

For example, the G7 helped to fight malaria and aids in 2002.

The G7 has been criticised because it doesn’t include two of the largest countries in the world, India and China. They aren’t part of the G7 because they consider them still developing countries.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: