DAA Daily

France closes borders to all non-EU travel

By: Dalila Hashish, News editor, The Pawprint

France is continuing to resist national lockdowns but has implemented new border restrictions, banning travel from any country that is not part of the EU, including the UK. Although travel from other EU countries is allowed, all incoming passengers will need to present a negative PCR test on arrival and comply with each of their country’s laws about testing.

Some countries, however, are exempted due to not being at risk. These countries are Australia, South Korea, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, and Thailand.

Some people may wonder why France doesn’t just go into lockdown like so many other countries. The reason behind this is because there is a massive amount of public opposition. Over 50% of people do not want a lockdown, which is a great difference from the 93% of people that supported it last spring.

However, things aren’t looking too good for the country in terms of numbers, with 820 deaths on Friday, taking the death toll to over 75,000. There are currently about 25,000 people hospitalized with Covid-19 and 3,000 intensive care patients. The vaccine has been administered to about 1.45 million people in France, but the process has slowed due to delivery shortages from Pfizer and Moderna.

As of right now, schools remain open, and working from home when possible is strongly encouraged, but not mandatory.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: